How to reset your Sky+ Box

Had a problem with my Sky+ box the other day, was seeing jerky on the screen so decided to do a full system reset. This can be accessed from the Sky Engineers Menu by the following

Press “SERVICES” on your Sky Plus Remote

Select Option 4

Next press 0, 1 and SELECT – you should now see the engineer’s menu.

Choose option 8, ‘Full System Reset’. The box will now take a few minutes to reset itself.

BE WARNED: This will clear your HD and thus wipe all your recorded programs!!

This solution has also been known to resolve pausing and recording issues. Enjoy!

11 responses to this post.

  1. Nice first post, I always forget how to get the enginneers menu.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Grace Broad on March 2, 2009 at 3:23 pm

    Nood’s Blog has saved me a good few £££££. by NOT having to call out the Sky Engineer.
    I followed the above advice and the HD was ‘reformatted’ and now I’m back to 100% free space.
    I could not have done this by just trying to find the Engineer’s menu as the instruction very fortunately says “Next press 0, 1 and Select” and up came the Engineer’s menu.
    My thanks again Nood.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Ben Cox on December 14, 2009 at 3:19 pm

    I had problems with live pause and recording 2 channels at the same time on my sky plus box despite have an excellent signal on both inputs. I followed the instruction and reset my sky plus box and it has been fine since.
    Thanks

    Reply

  4. Posted by Thankful Person on August 3, 2010 at 10:03 am

    Thank you. Your post has been very useful.

    Reply

  5. Posted by Rajat Kumar on August 13, 2010 at 9:42 pm

    Thanks. The simple instructions just worked fine. I am back to 100% free space. It has also saved me money. Thanks again

    Reply

  6. Posted by Chris on October 18, 2010 at 5:41 pm

    Saved me calling an engineer out! thank you very much ! :D

    Reply

  7. Posted by suleman on November 15, 2011 at 7:07 pm

    will this reset the pin aswell

    Reply

  8. Posted by martin sheridan on April 10, 2012 at 7:30 pm

    nice 1 amigo im a couch potatoe again

    Reply

  9. Thanks for your help worked first try.you saved me a phone call to sky thanks again

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

